Let’s Hope for Justice

Domestic Abuse and Child Abuse is always a sad situation. This guy has a history, which many of the most dangerous offenders do, and unfortunately the ultimate tragedy came of it. If you are in Minnesota, or anywhere else for that matter, and there is Domestic Assault/Violence or Child Abuse in your home (or you know of it occurring in someone else’s home), please report it and seek the necessary help. There are many shelters out there set up for the purpose of helping victims. Silence will not stop the problem.

Be Careful About What You Post on Facebook

When you are about to post something on a social media website, stop and remember that your post will potentially be seen by everyone…….including, in some circumstances, the police.

The following article is attributed to Lawyers.com

It shouldn’t need to be repeated, but apparently it does: Should you commit a crime, and wish to escape prosecution, don’t brag about your exploits on social media.

A man in Astoria, Oregon was arrested after he broadcast to the world about a little accident he had driving home early New Year’s Day.

Police were already investigating a hit-and-run that caused minor damage to two vehicles when they were tipped off that Jacob Cox-Brown, 18, had posted an update to his Facebook page:  ”Drivin drunk… classsic 😉 but to whoever’s vehicle i hit i am sorry. :P”

Sure enough, the cops matched the damage to Cox-Brown’s car to the two other vehicles and promptly arrested him on two counts of failing to perform the duties of a driver.

Luckily for Cox-Brown, admitting that he was drunk on Facebook wasn’t enough evidence for officers to actually charge him with DUI. In Oregon, a first DUI typically carries a year’s license suspension, between two days to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine, although a conviction can be avoided by entering a diversion program and completing drug and alcohol evaluation and treatment.

However, the hit-and-run charges could be more serious than a DUI would have been, if a judge chooses to be harsh: Leaving the scene of an accident that involved only property damage can bring a year in jail and up to $6,250 in fines.

New Years sans champagne next year, perhaps?